Venison and Chorizo Casserole

Where to start…Alot has happened this week…the early part of which…I’d rather not dwell on…lets just say it’s been a busy week of work…and personal issues…broad brush I know…but this is after all a food blog…

Amidst all the running around…its been a great week of cooking adventures…

I left work yesterday….firmly fixed on the idea…of buying a lovely piece rib eye…or sirloin steak…

image

Needless to say…this did not happen
and instead…i chose venison…I am often indecisive when it comes to food…its been a long time since I last enjoyed a good…steak…but even longer since I had venison…so I was not in any way…disappointed in my selection…

image

Having made up my mind…i knew the dish I wanted to cook…would be best lavished over today…I picked up some spicy Chorizo…and decided that a weekend…of cold weather… and gale force winds…would be best served by…
a lovely warming…hearty flavour packed
casserole…

image

Friday night…i went out with a good friend…it was nice to be out…and to enjoy a few…drinks…after a long…busy week…and yes the night did end with that most popular of post drinking…
street foods…the famous…or should I say the…infamous…doner kebab…

image

I woke this morning…keen…and looking forward to cooking a knock out casserole…so I began to…prepare…

image

I began first by cutting…chorizo…carrot
and…Leek into chunks…

image

Then I chopped up 1 large onion…a couple garlic cloves…and made a Bouquet garni…of fresh rosemary and thyme…

 

I then removed the venison from its…
package…and then using some kitchen roll…

image

patted the venison down…to remove the excess moisture…

image

Then I seasoned the meat with salt…
and pepper…and tossed the diced pieces in…a couple tablespoons of flour

image

Finally…i made a jug of beef stock and peeled…and cube a couple of small sweet potatoes…

image

Everything prepped…it was time to start….

image

Into a deep frying pan…add olive oil…and place on a medium heat…and when hot…add first the venison…garlic and onion…fry for 2-3mins then add the chorizo….fry for a further…2-3mins…

image

Remove from the heat…and add to a…
casserole dish…

image

Place the bouquet garni into the middle of the…dish…sprinkle over a tablespoon
of paprika…add the vegetables…but not the…sweet potatoes…

image

Pour in the…stock and fill the casserole dish 3/4 of the way…finish off by pouring in the best red wine you can afford…

image

Cover the dish with foil…making a few small…holes in the foil….place into an oven…at 120 degrees…

image

After 2hrs…remove from the oven…turn everything over…add the…sweet potatoes…and a few bay leaves…cover back over…and place into the oven..turning the heat upto 160 degrees

Leave for another 1hr…put some basmati…rice onto the boil…

image

After an hour…remove the foil…turn the heat up to 180 degrees and cook for a further 25 minutes…

image

Serve hot and on rice….

image

and enjoy…a hearty…wholesome meal…
just perfect…for a cold…windy day…and a glass of red wine…just makes it all the more worthwhile…

This kind of food is what I love about cooking…its like a marriage of the mind…great ingredients all thinking…
and working together…to create harmony…

This is one to try…

2 thoughts on “Venison and Chorizo Casserole

Leave a comment